Thursday, 31 May 2012

Day 4 - Biggest Loser Challenge

So we shall continue the tale of the mental scales! So yesterday morning I was a lovely 12st 13lbs which is fantastic, this morning according to my wonderful scales I am 13st 3lbs, so I have put on 4lbs in a day. This morning I actually lept out of bed, I was so excited (I know, bit much!) to weigh myself as I was getting such good results. But no, I am back in the 13st mark. It is 4lbs overall, but lets see what the crazy scales give me tomorrow!

Todays Meal:
Breakfast - Vanilla Bean Shake - Very yummy 
Snack - Choc Fudge Snack Bar
Lunch - Mint Choc Meal Replacement Bar
Snack - Pineapple
Dinner - Something nice at my mum's.
Snack - not sure if I will have time to have one.

Thursdays are my rehearsal days, I am part of an Am Dram group, so we do a bit of dancing and singing, means I should get my exercise for today.

Weight Lost so far - 4lbs in 3 days (not too bad)

Wednesday, 30 May 2012

Day 3 - Biggest Loser Challenge

So, I think that my scales are officially broken! I weighed myself in the morning yesterday and I had lost 6.5lbs, I weighed myself last night before bed and I was 13st 7lbs! So I put the 6.5lbs back on within a day. I think my scales just pick a number any number.
Anyhoo, weighed myself this morning and I am now 12st 13lbs! So that is an 8lb loss in 2 days if it is to be believed.
So todays food is:
Breakfast: Choc Mint Shake
Snack: Choc snack bar
Lunch: Berry Crunch Meal Replacement Bar
Snack: Banana
Dinner: Chilli with Rice
Snack/Dessert: Low Fat Yogurt

Overall I am actually finding this diet easier that I thought. I am not too sure how long I would be able to manage this for, but during the week at work and when it is sunny it is relatively easy. Nice to only have to think about what I am having for dinner, I am making a conscious effort to eat more veg, but I must say, I am a little gassy (the veg does not help this!). Times like these make me wish I had a dog.

Tuesday, 29 May 2012

Day 2: Biggest Loser Challenge

So today is day 2 on my Meal Replacement 9 day trial.
Yesterday I ended up having a lovely healthy meal of roast potatoes (done with low calorie spray oil) broccoli and chicken in a home made tomato sauce with chili, peppers, onions and garlic! Yum yum. My final snack for the day was 2 low fat yogurts.
So today my day looks like this:
Breakfast - Banana Shake - a huge improvement on the disgusting mixed berry yesterday!
Snack - Strawberry Crunch bar
Lunch - Berry Fudge Bar
Snack - Pineapple and Grapes
Dinner - going to my Nan's will be having a low fat meal
Snack - Fruit

I weighed myself this morning: 13st 1/2lb, this means I have lost 6 and a half lbs in one day! I am pretty sure that my scales are broken but I am loving that result!

I did go for a two hour walk with the boyfriend in our village. We had a wonderful time, found a park and I went on the swings!

Here is picture of my Biggest Loser food for the next 8 days:


Monday, 28 May 2012

Groupon - Biggest Loser Meal Replacement 9 day trial

So, I am constantly worried about my weight and am now bigger than I have ever been in my entire life! Part of my new years resolution was to lose 3 stone this year, I started off the year on Slimming World which has helped in the past and I didn't have my head in the game, I then moved house and gave up on it and now eat horrendously! So I saw a Groupon deal pop up in my email for £15 I can do 9 day trial of the Biggest Loser Meal Replacement diet. It is very similar to Slim Fast, so this is what a normal day looks like for the next 9 days:

Breakfast : 1 x Meal Replacement Shake - Mixed Berry
Snack: Choc Fudge Biggest Loser Snack Bar
Lunch - 1 x Meal Replacement Bar - Chocolate Crunch
Snack: Fruit
Dinner - A healthy meal
Snack: Fruit and a low fat yogurt

Today is my first day and to be honest they taste like cardboard, but it is only for 9 days, what is there to lose? Well apart from a huge amount of weight! Here is hoping!

Starting Weight: 13st 7lbs

What a difference the sun can make!


So finally the sun is shining in the UK and it brings a huge smile to my face. I love the sun and being out in it as much as possible. I actually had a weekend off and I got paid on Friday so was doubly great!

Friday started off with me going to Sainsbury's and buying some Pimms, the staple to any sunny weekend in the UK. Saturday we (me and the fella) went to a Farmers Market in Hitchin, which to be honest is poor in comparison to the one we went to in Harpenden last year. But the normal market was on so we spent loads of money of fruit and veg. 

Then in the afternoon I went on a cupcake decorating class which was absolutely fantastic, I would recommend to anyone for a girly afternoon. I went to http://www.emilyjanecakes.co.uk/ and had a great time! Here are a few of my photo's of the cakes that I decorated. I learnt how to make all the decorations and how to pipe. 















Saturday evening I played a fun game called Petanque, it is version of bowls, but you throw the ball in the air. Needless to say we lost but was a fun game anyhow.

On Sunday the fella had to work, so I travelled to a car boot sale, I got a lovely jug to put flowers in and 2 books. I also popped into town and got some bits for the garden. I have now potted about 8 different vegetable seeds, so am hoping they will grow big and strong in this lovely weather! I then went to Bingo in the evening. I know this is a diary of a 20 something, but I probably sound like I am 60, but I had a fantastic weekend! I feel it was very British! This was my Jubilee weekend as I will be working all weekend next weekend, all 4 days!

Tuesday, 15 May 2012

Moonwalk 2012

So, I completed the Moonwalk this weekend. Boy oh boy is it hard!
If any of you don't know, it is a 26.2 mile walk around London at night time, so not only are you doing a marathon, you are doing it with no sleep! Plus they ask you to do it in your bra! So I decided back in November I think, that it was a good idea to do this, thinking that I am going to be skinny and in shape blah blah blah, but instead I am the biggest I have ever been and I have done no training!
I was on many occasions thinking about just not turning up, but I had a word with myself and decided I should do it! So I turned up, with no training behind me, only to find out that the Central line was shut off, so I ended up walking about a mile to get to the big pink tent in Hyde Park, then about another half a mile to the back of the queue. So really I should only walk 24.7 miles right? I have also noticed, that after this 1.5 miles my right knee and right side of my groin muscles are already hurting! So after about 5 hours of waiting around, we start walking at 11.20pm. I say we because I went with a girl from work and her friend (it was the girl from work's idea to do the thing in the first place!). We kicked off and started at a steady pace, approximately 3 miles an hour, I was fine until about 9 miles and I started to flag. The half marathon walkers were veering off to finish their walk and we still had so much left to go! I was sooooo tempted to jump in one of the cars that were taking injured people. But I persevered. I ended up walking from mile 11 by myself as I was too slow for the other girls and I did not want to hold them up, so in went the iPod and I was left alone with my thoughts.
I finally made it to the end with my knees burning and my back hurting. Much older ladies passing me and one giving me a pat on the back as she passed. I must admit, I did cry to myself along the way, but I eventually crossed the finish line with my feet covered in blisters and my legs in agony. But here is my medal! 9 and a half hours completed!


Tuesday, 8 May 2012

Work

So, I have been made aware that my boss is pregnant and will be going on maternity leave. After initial congratulations and arranging flowers etc from the team, I am thinking great, this is a fantastic opportunity for me to step up and get some more experience.
So a meeting was put in place with my manager's manager with the pretense of discussing the next steps (I did not suggest the meeting). So I am thinking this could be positive. But no, I am apparently not ready to step up! I may have been doing a very similar role, but apparently I do not have enough experience to manage relationships with stakeholders. Apologies, I didn't realise I needed more experience with speaking with people, I thought I could hold a conversation.
But alas, there is nothing more I can do. I love the company that I work for and want to stay here for a number of years, but what do you do when you feel you have done all you can in your role and you are just going with the flow. I want to be challenged and motivated and at the moment I am not feeling the love. So, a plan of action is to be put in place. To be continued...